View Full Version : Anyone Reckon This Is A Scam?
Ginn L
30-07-2009, 10:01 PM
Well yeah ive recently stuck my car on Autotrader, and got an email yesterday from someone apparently interested in buying it. Email was from (taycecarissa@yahoo.com, i got the same email twice saying:
"Still available for sale?
Waiting for your answer!"
So i emailed back saying yeah its for sale, were u interested etc, an got a reply back 2day and they said this:
I want to buy this car for me . Let me know your final asking price.I am in Milano, Italy in a business trip I want to manage this fast so we won't waste our time. I will send you full payment. I will only need your name and address so I can proceed with payment.
Waiting for your response!
^ Bit suspicious or what??? :rolleyes: I just emailed back and said nah thanks. I assume they probs wanted it to come nick my motor or something?
Someone was telling me not long ago his mate was selling an M3 hardtop on ebay and some bloke rung up asking for the post code to come have a look at it, and 3 days later, his car smashed in and the hardtop gone.
Theiving bastards! :mad:
churchwa
30-07-2009, 10:10 PM
Avoid!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Ginn L
30-07-2009, 10:34 PM
Yeah i thought it would be, i never considered saying yeah and giving my address, they made it quite suspicious not asking any info about the car. Ive emailed saying nah, and hopefully thats the last i hear of it.
I was thinking of emailing them the address of a random old bill station just to take the piss, but ill just leave it as that :D
I had the same thing when selling the 4motion. Stay clear...lol
Alym786
30-07-2009, 11:55 PM
Tracking the e-mail address its from America, CLICKY (http://www.emailfinder.com/EFC.aspx?_act=emailres&_email=taycecarissa@yahoo.com)
I.P address is from United states Sunnyvale CLICKY (http://www.ip-adress.com/ip_tracer/209.131.36.158)
Deffo a scam...
bootyman
31-07-2009, 06:13 AM
Easy. Just reply back saying my Address is Scotland Yard, St Jameses Square, London, or even better still Buckingham Palace, The Mile, Central London ;-) He can send payment there then!
Say all that when i sold my E36 a few weeks a ago, a guy from Scotland sent me all the cash £ 4.5k in the post and he hadn't even seen the car. He sent a trailor down to collect the car a week after so it can happen, but i wouldnt trust anyone out of the UK for doing something like that.
J1SUA
31-07-2009, 08:15 AM
SCAM! Would you send an email to buy a car?
If this person was for real they would call you.
I had a few of these when i sold my last car - funny thing is one of my mates fell for it - he was desperate to sell his car - to quote Napolean Dynamite - IDIOT!
Ginn L
31-07-2009, 09:18 AM
Yeah J1SUA, as you said it has got scam written all over it.
Did your mate get his car knicked? or anything happen over it?
Saqib
31-07-2009, 10:29 AM
Tracking the e-mail address its from America, CLICKY (http://www.emailfinder.com/EFC.aspx?_act=emailres&_email=taycecarissa@yahoo.com)
I.P address is from United states Sunnyvale CLICKY (http://www.ip-adress.com/ip_tracer/209.131.36.158)
Deffo a scam...
Don't think that quite works. I think it picks up the details of the email provider as I put my email in and it came up with:
Location: Mountain View, CA
But either way, SCAM!
Dibberly
31-07-2009, 03:07 PM
i was just about to say that the email finder is not true..
My @ntlworld.com comes up as Virgin Media (dont need sherlock on that one)...but says i am in Belfast...even the trace ip site says i am from Belfast.
Its not that far out...only just over 400 miles by road and a boat trip!!
I always think if they can not be bothered to come out and look at the car....ask yourself the question...WHY?
Ginn L
31-07-2009, 04:29 PM
Yeah i tried that email finder, and it said i was in America :confused:
And exactly as you said, i mean, who buys cars and sends cheques before looking at them? lol You'd be a nutter to do such a thing.
Hopefully i wont get anymore emails from 'Tayce Carissa' lol
Black Sabbath
31-07-2009, 07:32 PM
Scam for sure,steer well clear.Dont start me off about secret IP address checking !!!!!!
gie0320
31-07-2009, 07:52 PM
Scam for sure,steer well clear.Dont start me off about secret IP address checking !!!!!!
Easy now markus!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.9 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.