View Full Version : Genuine or Replica?
Mikey_Bwoy
17-01-2007, 08:16 PM
Just seen this on E-Bay, advertised by BM Spares UK. Now I've been on their website before, and they sell a large selection of second hand bits from various BMW's they've broken, and they sell alloy wheels, genuine and Replica BMW items. They've also got various bumpers on there. It's unclear as to whether these new items are genuine BMW parts or replicas though!
I've e-mailed them, but am getting no response. I don't know whether this is because they're replicas, but still want to chance their arm at getting my business or not!
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/E36-M3-Front-Bumper_W0QQitemZ170071701028QQihZ007QQcategoryZ103 74QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item170071701028
Can anyone shed any light on this one for me?
Cheers :)
benny boy
17-01-2007, 08:39 PM
If they cant be arsed to reply to your email look else where mate
pete323
17-01-2007, 08:59 PM
Looks Genuine enough to me and at that price
The auction was only listed tonight,so give them a chance to reply
Mikey_Bwoy
17-01-2007, 09:03 PM
there was another one the same on there the other day, I e-mailed them then :)
Chaos
17-01-2007, 09:19 PM
No experience of them myself Mikey, but my concern would be if they're slack about replying to sales enquiries, what are they going to be like responding to technical enquiries or more importantly aftersales/returns? Fair risk on a 25 quid badge/filler cap/tax disc holder or something, but a 225 quid bumper is a bit pricey to risk it IMO.
bluebro
17-01-2007, 09:32 PM
They have 100% feedback and their phone number is on the listing too.
I'd give them a ring tomorrow just to clarify as it always quicker to answer a query on the phone than sitting going thru emails and typing out answers to queries. Maybe the guy's busy, that's all.
Certainly looks like a genuine bumper and a good price. Best of luck with it.
ccfj1
18-01-2007, 07:33 AM
looks OEM to me, like bluebro says give them a ring.
Phone them fella, its also advertised on their web site:
http://www.bmspares.co.uk/new_parts_bmw_bodyparts.htm
To be fair, thats a real good price I have known reps be £200 for all of that.
Mikey_Bwoy
18-01-2007, 11:19 AM
had a reply this morning, it's not genuine!
Cheers
Mikey_Bwoy
18-01-2007, 11:22 AM
In fact this is exactly what it says:
If you are unable to tell from the photos, it proves that this is indistinguishable from the genuine article. All the components are genuine BMW but the cover is not. Once painted you would not be able to tell the difference. Most of our competitors advertise them as genuine BMW when they are not. Saloon & Coupe = same fitting.
M5 SC
18-01-2007, 11:25 AM
I suppose they have a point :rolleyes:
You gonna go for it or leave it???
Mikey_Bwoy
18-01-2007, 11:50 AM
not sure. Was set on getting everything OEM, but like you say, he has a point
If that's the price it goes for, I think I might as well snap it up seeing as it's complete with all components
M5 SC
18-01-2007, 11:58 AM
I think you should go for it, no one will tell the difference and if it saves you a few pennies you can spend that elsewhere!
Mikey_Bwoy
18-01-2007, 12:01 PM
yep, I think you're right. Put the difference towards a front strut brace or rear bumper.
Or even just the foglights or something, it will help
:)
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.9 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.